What is Edmund Rice Education Australia?

Edmund Rice Education Australia (EREA) is the system of schools offering a Catholic education in the tradition of Blessed Edmund Rice. Our schools are in every state and territory of Australia.

What kind of schools does EREA run?

EREA schools are very diverse. They are both primary and secondary, co-educational, boys, regional/rural, boarding, early learning centres and flexible learning centres.

How many EREA schools are there?

There are 55 schools and 2 Early Childhood Centres across Australia, and 34 Associated schools. They are known as Catholic Schools in the Edmund Rice tradition.

When was EREA established?

EREA was established by the Christian Brothers in 2007 and now has full responsibility for the schools operated by the Brothers at that time.

What are the guiding principles of Catholic Schools in the Edmund Rice tradition?

As part of their mission within the Catholic Church and shaped by the charism of Blessed Edmund Rice, schools offer an education guided by the Charter for Catholic Schools in the Edmund Rice Tradition.

Are there schools overseas?

EREA schools are part of an international network of schools in over 20 countries called Edmund Rice Education Beyond Borders.

How do I enrol my child in a Catholic School in the Edmund Rice tradition?

Please contact your local school for more information about becoming part of Edmund Rice education community.

View What is an Edmund Rice Education Video