Members of the EREA Council

Philomena Billington

Ms Philomena (Phil) Billington was appointed to EREA Council in July 2018. Phil is a recognised educator, leader and facilitator across Australia, having taught and held leadership roles in a number of Government and Catholic remote, rural and city schools in four states and five dioceses. Her leadership roles have included being the first female Director of Catholic Education (Sandhurst Diocese), retiring at the end of 2014, Deputy Director with responsibility for Catholic Identity & Stewardship, and the development of two Religious Education Curriculum documents in two Dioceses. Phil now offers consultancy services (Ministry Without Borders) for leaders in Catholic Education across the nation, especially in rural dioceses. She is passionate about and committed to providing pro bono support for young people living with disability, encouraging growth towards a more inclusive Church and society, and parish and diocesan pastoral development. Phil is the EREA member of the Association of Ministerial Public Juridic Persons (AMPJP); is Chair of the Committee of Religious Institute and Ministerial Public Juridic Persons School Authorities Australia (CORMSAA) and is a member of the Advisory Board of the La Salle Academy of the Australian Catholic University. Phil was elected Deputy President in 2020 and President of EREA on 15 November 2021.

David White

Mr David White was appointed to EREA Council in July 2017. David was the founding CEO of Big Brothers Big Sisters Australia. He has been Chair of Sisters of Charity Community Care, the National Program Manager for Ladder Australia, Chair of the Churchill Fellowship Foundation Community Services Panel, Board Member of Marillac House, and the Founding Chair of the Australian Youth Mentoring Network. David is the Chief Executive Officer of Jesuit Social Ministries Australia and a Member of the Jesuit Professional Standards Committee. In April 2021, he commenced a 9-month contract as Executive Officer for Jesuit Social Ministries. David’s three sons attended an EREA school, and he and his wife spent two years living in remote area Aboriginal communities. He was elected Deputy President and Treasurer of EREA on 15 November 2021.

Kathy Freeman

Ms Kathy Freeman took up her role as a member of the EREA Council at the start of 2017. She was Treasurer of EREA from 2018 to 15 November 2021 Kathy had been a principal for 19 years, including ten years as principal of two EREA schools, St Edmund’s College and St Gabriel’s School. Kathy has been a member of the Australian Council of Educational Leaders. In 2015 she received an ACEL Leadership Award and the International Paul Harris Fellowship Award. She has been an advocate across government and non-government organisations for students with a disability and their families. Kathy also acted as Executive Director of Good Samaritan Education during 2020.

Graham Goerke

Mr Graham Goerke was appointed to EREA Council in January 2020 having previously served as EREA Board Chair 2013-2019 and on the inaugural EREA Council 2006-2012. Graham holds degrees in Law and Jurisprudence from the University of Western Australia and practised as a Lawyer at Jackson McDonald Lawyers (Perth) for 35 years. He is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors course and holds a Certificate in Leadership and Catholic Culture (ACU). Between 2006 and 2012, Graham was an Adjunct Professor at Murdoch University Law School. Graham has chaired and held positions on numerous boards including the Jackson McDonald Board, Aquinas College (Perth), National Trust (WA), Australian Council National Trusts and Western Australian Sports Centre Trust. Graham was President of EREA from 1 July 2020 to 15 November 2021.

Peter Turner

Mr Peter Turner was appointed to the EREA Council on 1 January 2021.  He has broad experience in Catholic education, most recently as Director of Schools with the Catholic Education Diocese of Wollongong for 13 years. Peter’s other roles include Regional Director of Education for the Southern Region of the Archdiocese of Sydney for five years, principal in two secondary schools as foundation principal over 13 years, Deputy Chair of the former NSW Catholic Education Commission for five years, and Chair of the Commission School Resources Committee for nine years.  Peter has a deep love of faith and a strong commitment to Catholic education ‘making a difference’.  He brings to the Council his capacity to think and act strategically, a collaborative leadership style and a preparedness to tackle the ‘hard issues’ with honesty.